Daily Prompt: Silence

Today’s Prompt: Silence

Well, yesterday’s actually. How weird is silence, though?

It can be the most uncomfortable thing to experience, maybe with new people, or family, or anyone really! But when you reach that sweet spot of being comfortable in the silence, you know you’re onto something.

How many times have you heard people say ‘It was great because we were sat in silence but it wasn’t awkward’. Okay maybe you’ve never heard anyone say that, but I think it’s a pretty great thing when you don’t feel like you have to try with someone.

Sometimes that comes naturally and it could be the first time you’ve ever met. Other times a little more work needs to go into the relationship so you both feel secure enough to relax and just… be.

I don’t know about you, but I love a bit of silence sometimes. Right now my husband and I are actually sat in the same room, doing different things, but in a lovely silence. The world can all too easily overwhelm the sense, especially with technology being everywhere.

I can sometimes find that I think I want to sit and listen to music, when really what my soul craves is silence and intimacy in the silence. Does that sound crazy? Maybe it does.

I’ve been challenged lately to spend more time in the silence to discipline myself from my mind wandering or thinking over things that at the end of the day don’t really matter at all. It can be hard! Often I’ll put on some music to focus my heart, soul, and mind into the one place of God’s rest and then turn it off to enjoy the intimacy of silence.

When was the last time you were intimate in silence with God – or with yourself, or even another person?

It’s very refreshing, I find.

Leave a Reply

